Narmir - Land of Magic and Conquest Narmir - Land of Magic and Conquest Narmir - Land of Magic and Conquest  

Go Back   Narmir - Land of Magic and Conquest > Narmir > General Discussions

Old 12-29-2005, 10:15 AM

Default Think Before Speaking

Okay, I know that I am about to push a few buttons here, so please do not take this personally, and don't think I'm just trying to be a witch with a capital B.

Now most of you probably have no idea that I have had some small experience with programming. That has given me an idea of what goes into the creation of any program. I am currently working on learning more about programming, basically i know BASIC language, and am now trying to learn C++. However, the basics of making any program are the same.

First, you have to brainstorm, which includes figuring out the type of program it will be, then figuring out general effects, and specifics effects of the program. You have to figure out not only what actions a user can take, but all possible outcomes for that action. When you program, think of yourself as being a god, you have to make an attempt at being all-knowing.

Second, you have to figure out what code you will be using. Not the language, but the actual code itself. You have to try to keep things as simple as possible, so that if you need to debug something, you don't have to rewrite ten pages of code for one small error.

Third, you have to put your code together. Basically, this is actually writing out the code itself. This, believe it or not is the easiest part.

Last, you have to debug. This is a series of debugging, then testing, then debugging, then testing... Until you have found as many bugs as you think possible, then you keep testing and debuging, just to make sure.

Any time a change is needed the programmer has to go through all of this. As well as making sure that they have absolutely no conflicts with other areas of the program.